The Kranti

The Revolution

Ranpur State

Ranpur State was one of many princely non-salute states of India during the period of the British Raj. It was one of the four native states located in present-day Nayagarh district,Odisha.

Ranpur State

Princely State of British India

17th Century - 1948

Ranpur State

Ranpur State in the Imperial Gazetteers Of India


  • 1931                                   524 km (203 sq mi)


  • 1931                                       47,711


  • Established                          17th Century
  • Accession to the Union of India   1948

Succeeded By

Dominion In India

The State was bounded in the west by Nayagarh State and in all other directions by Puri district. It was very close to the seashore but had no coastline. Its southwestern part was thickly forested and was mostly uninhabited. The Ranpur ruling family claimed to belong to the most ancient lineaga of the princely rulers of the Orissa Tributary States. The Capital of the state was Ranpur.a small town Near kalupara Ghat railway station where The Raja resided.


According to legendary tradition,Ranpur State is of very ancient Origin. The Legendary date of its foundation is placed some time in the 18th century BC when the founder a hunter named Basara Basuk, having defeated a giant demon named Ranasura, Established his rule in the area. The name of the place is derived from the demon’s name and  was initially known as Ranasurapura,shortened to Ranpur in the Course of time.

The Ranpur state rulers Claimed to be the most ancient of all the lineages of the Orissa Tributary States with a list generations of rulers convering a period of 36,000 years with the Raja declaring indigenous origin in an inquiry in 1814. According to the family history the founder of the kingdom was Biswabasab,a Sabara who hailed from the Nilagiri hills region established his rule in the region after subduing the Bhuiyas of the neighbouring Villages. Later the chiefs received the title of Narandra From the Eastern Ganga monarch Ananga Bhimadeva owing to his  prowess in battle.

 The state became a british protectorate in 1803 after the British defeated the Marathas in the Second Anglo-Marathas war and took over the region. The last Raja of Ranpur signed the instrument of Accession to the Indian Union on 1 January 1948 merging his state into Odisha.

Vuew Of Ranpur Place from Residence Of the Ruling Family


The Rulers of Ranpura State.

  • Narayan Narendra (1683 – 1692)
  • Ramchandra Narendra (1692 – 1727)
  • Sarangadhar Bajradhar  Narendra (1727 – 1754)
  • Narsingh Bajradhar Narendra (1754 – 1789)
  • Brujdaban Bajradhar Narendra (1789 – 1821)
  • Brajsundar Bajradhar Narendra (1821 – 1842)
  • Benudar Bajradhar Narendra Mahapatra (1842 – 1899)
  • Birbar Krishna Chandra Narendra Mahapatra ( 1899 – 1945)
  • Bajradhar Chandra Singh Deo Bajradhar Narendra Mahapatra ( 1945 – 1948)


  • Brajendra Chandra Singh Deo bajradhar Narendra (1948 – 1980)
  • Pradeep Chandra Singh Deo Bajradhar Narendra Mahapatra (1980 – 1982)
  • Dileep Chandra Singh Deo Bajradhar Narendra Mahapatra (1980-Current)