The Kranti

The Revolution

Naigawan Rebai State

The Naigawan Rebai State (1807 -1949) Was one of the small Princely States Of India during the period Of the British Raj.It was a non-salute princely state in the Bundelkhand Agency.The state was founded in 1807 by Thakur Lakshman Singh.

Naigawan Rebai State

 Status                                         Princely State

 Capital                                         Naigawan Rebai

 Common Languages                         Hindi 


  • 1807-1808                     Thakur Lakshman Singh
  • 1935-1949                     Thakur Ratan Singh


  • Established                                1807 A.D
  • Acceded t0 India                       1949 A.D


  • Total                                 31 km (12 sq mi)

 Currency                                             Indian Rupee

Succeeded by 

Dominion Of India 

 Today Part of                     Uttar Pradesh,Republic Of India

Thakur Lakshman Singh

    Origin & History

The Ruler of Naigawan Rebai State Belonged to Dauwa clan of Ahir(Yadav).

Early History :

The state was founded in 1807 by Thakur Lakshman Singh.He was a Sardar of Jaitpur state,who rebelled against Jaitpur.when the British took control of Bundelkhand they asked the rebel chieftains to surrender and put a Condition of giving jagirdari in return.He then obtained a charter (Sanad) of five village from the British Raj. He made Naigawan Rebai as the center of  the Jagir.He died in 1808 and was succeeded by his son Kunwar Jagat Singh.

  • Thakur Jagat Singh :

Thakur Jagat Singh Became chief of state in 1808 and crowned with title of “Sawai”.

In 1850 it was held that Lakshman Singh’s tenure was for life only,and that holding should have been resumed on his death. Jagat Singh was,however,allowed to Continue in possession and in 1862 this  rulling was reversed and the jagirdar received an adoption sanad.

Thakur Jagat Singh remained in power till he died in 1867. After that Larai Dulhaiya became the holder of state,she was widow of Jagat Singh, who Succeeded in 1867.

  • Thakur Larai Dulhaiya :

Larai Dulhaiya succeeded in 1867 with the sanction of Government, though no women had before held the position of ruling chief in Bundelkhand.She had 6 cavalry, 51 foot soldiers and 1 cannon.

In 1893 Larai Dulhaiya adopted Kunwar Viswanath Singh,who was born in 1881 to a district relative of the Naigawan Rebai Raj family: the adoption was sanctioned by the British Government and his right of Succession to Thakurain Larai Dulhaiya was recognised.

  • Thakur Vishwanath Singh :

Vishwanath Singh succeeded Thakur Larai Dulhaiya in 1908.He was granted administrative power on the 8 March,1908.

Vishwanath Singh expanded the Jagirdari,Now the area of state (Jagir) was about 12-15 square miles,which included more than 12 village and the revenue was 17,000.

Vishwanath Singh Married three times,all the marriages being with the daughters of the Dauwa Ahir(Yadav) family in Sarila.He died on the 1st June 1935 and was succeeded by his son Kunwar Ratan Singh,who was born on the 16th February 1913.

  • Thakur Ratan Singh:

Thakur Ratan Singh was most probably the Last Jagirdar of Naigawan Rebai state.After the Independence, princely state was merged with Republic of India in 1949.

   List of Ruler :

  • Thakur Lakshman Singh    (18071808)
  • Thakur Jagat Singh   (1808-Unknown)
  • Thakur Larai Dulhaiya   (1867-1908)
  • Thakur Vishwanath Singh   (1909-1935)
  • Thakur Ratan Singh   (1935-1949)
Naigawan Rebai Stamp
Naigawan Rebai State Stamp